Week Three: Have you had your tweeties today?

I feel like social networking is similar to the old Wheaties advertisement, “Have you had your Wheaties today?”  Just as a healthy breakfast is proven to improve energy and productivity, it appears as though this week’s reading assignment makes a case for twitter participation encouraging professional energy and online productivity.

m5jsff5lpcdm5k9r5921https://twitter.com/wheaties

However, as we learned in last weeks readings, we have to stay focused and on course.  Just as colleague Berna states in her blog, http://berna-souza.tumblr.com/post/56034519434/can-i-have-my-full-attention-please, when we focus our goals and determine our maintainable tasks for the week, production increases as does our attention to detail.  This must be what I’ve been missing out on when it comes to twitter.  I haven’t been able to identify why I just can’t get it.  I think I’ve figured it out.  I was aimlessly clicking with no defined purpose or goal for doing so.  For some reason I felt like if I clicked enough I would find something would jump out and grab my attention.  Nope, didn’t work.  I recently opened an pages.li account.  How amazing, now it all makes sense.  I understand.  Twitter is a consolidated news paper, of which I can successfully sit down with each morning over my bowl of Wheaties and enjoy.  Once I have mastered what I call, “Bird-Watching”, I will hopefully become an expert tweeter.  Success is on the horizon.

1 thought on “Week Three: Have you had your tweeties today?

  1. Well stated, Lindsey. Without purpose, the internet is like the Twilight Zone. I can easily get sucked in looking at pictures of kittens and the latest viral videos and the whole day can pass by. I definitely rely on TweetDeck to help me filer out the crap and help me stay focused. Nonetheless, I try to limit my activity on social media to 5 – 10 min at a time to avoid going into the Twilight Zone.

    Nan

Leave a comment